Driver Education FAQ
Does Prince William Driver Education have the best program available for my teen?
We believe that to be true. Our staff is comprised of current and former PWCS teachers who have an endorsement in driver's education.
Do I have to go back to the DMV to receive the license?
The road test will be given the last day of road instruction. When the student meets all requirements, they will be given a temporary license by their road instructor. DMV will then send a date and time for the student and parent to appear in court to receive the permanent license.
What documents do I need to take to the DMV for my childs permit application?
- If you are under 19 years of age, you will be required to show one proof of identity, one proof of legal presence, and two proofs of Virginia residency, along with proof of your social security number (if you have been issued one). Use the interactive Document Guide to determine which documents to bring with you.
When is my student eligible for their license?
To be eligible for a license the student must complete the following steps:
1. Successful completion of classroom driver's education.
2. Parent and student must attend a District-8 in-person 90-minute presentation.
3. Must be 16 years and 3 months old.
4. Must hold a VA permit for a minimum of 9 months.
5. Must have a minimum of 45 hours of practice driving to include at least 15 hours of driving at night.
6. Successful completion of a 14-period behind the wheel program.
What is the procedure for obtaining a learner's permit?
Students are eligible for a Virginia learner's permit when they reach 15 years and 6 months old. They must have proper documentation and a parent/guardian signature when applying for a permit. After completing the application, students must pass a signs test, general knowledge test, and a vision test.
What if my student fails the permit test?
Students and parents should spend adequate time preparing for the permit test. Students have three chances to pass all parts of the permit test. If they fail the third time, they will be required to take an additional classroom course before attempting the permit test again. See VA DMV website for more information.
What happens if I don't make a deposit?
If a deposit hasn't been received after 60 days of registration the account will be deleted.
Where do I send my payment for driver education?
You must pay before you register for behind-the-wheel driving lessons. Pay online now.
If you prefer, you can pay by check or money order. Please send or bring payment to your high school driver education coordinator. Checks should be made out to Prince William County Public Schools (please write your student's name in the memo field of your check).
Do you offer classroom instruction?
Prince William County Public Schools provides driver education instruction in health and physical education II; each high school provides a minimum of thirty-six classroom periods of driver education instruction.
Parents/guardians and their student drivers are required to attend a 90-minute traffic safety program as part of the in-classroom portion of the driver education curriculum. This program requirement must be met before a student receives a Driver Eduation Certificate of Completion Card (DEC-District 8 card).
What is the 90-minute parent/student presentation?
The 90-minute presentation program has been implemented in PWCS to enhance communication between students, teachers, law enforcement, and parents in an attempt to improve education and reduce risk for new drivers. It is a requirement of District-8 and must be attended before the student is eligible to receive thier classroom completion card.
When can my teen start the classroom course?
In Prince William County Public Schools classroom driver's education is part of the HPE II curriculum and is offered at no additional cost. Students must successfully complete HPE I before they take HPE II.
How much does behind-the-wheel cost?
The behind-the-wheel cost is $240, to be paid in full before instruction begins.
When can my teen begin behind-the-wheel lessons?
Your teen may begin behind-the-wheel once proof of classroom driver education completion is provided or they are a Prince William County Public School's student currently enrolled in the classroom with at least 10 hours of instruction. In addition, the student must have a valid Virginia learner's permit.
How many days of instruction does the program provide?
Virginia regulations require 14-periods of instruction to include seven hours of driving and seven hours of observation. Instruction is typically provided in two-hour sessions for seven days.